The following databases are licensed for use by current students, faculty, and staff of Long Beach City College only and paid for by the Library. Most databases may be accessed from off-campus by clicking the link below and following the instructions.
- A |
- B |
- C |
- D |
- E |
- F |
- G |
- H |
- I |
- J |
- K |
- L |
- M |
- N |
- O |
- P |
- Q |
- R |
- S |
- T |
- U |
- V |
- W |
- X |
- Y |
- Z |
- Academic Search Premiere (EBSCOhost)
- This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Off-campus access.
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
- America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Off-campus access.
- American History Online (Facts on File)

- Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Off-campus access.
- American Women's History Online (Facts on File)

- Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. Off-campus access.
- African-American History Online (Facts on File)

- Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Off-campus access.
- American Indian History Online (Facts on File)

- Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage. Off-campus access.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online (Facts on File)

- Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s.. Off-campus access.
- ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Off-campus access.
- Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCOhost)
- Art Museum Image Gallery offers unparalleled access to thousands of high-quality art images and related multimedia. Drawing on the collections of distinguished museums, there are over 165,000 superior quality images with covering time periods ranging from 3000 B.C. to the present day. The collection represents art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples. Off-campus access.
- Arts & Sciences Collection (JSTOR)
- Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in twenty-one disciplines. Off-campus access.
- Bartleby.com

- Online full-text of selected literature, reference material, and poetry. No password needed.
- Books In Print

- Publishing information on 1.9 million titles (including reviews) about books and media that are currently published and other books declared out-of-print over the last ten years. The database is updated monthly. Available on campus only.
- Business Company Resource Center
- Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Off-campus access.
- Career Guidance Center (Ferguson's/Facts on File)

- Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more! Off-campus access.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text

- CINAHL® the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL.With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Off-campus access.
- CountryWatch
- Up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Available on campus only.
- CQ Researcher

- CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social issues to science and technology. There are 44 reports each year, including four expanded reports. Off-campus access.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

- The full text of the 87th edition, providing broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers.
- Current Issues: Environment
- Current Issues: Environment presents a carefully prepared database composed of 100% full text articles from a variety of key publications covering important environmental issues. Off-campus access.
- EBSCOhost Premiere collection
- Full text periodical databases. Indexes and provides full text to thousand of titles. Subject coverage is broad and includes scholarly publications. Includes the following individual databases: MasterFILE Premier, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Elite, Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer Editions, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion & Philosophy Collection, Professional Development Collection, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source, ERIC, MEDLINE, and CINAHL and more.
- Electronic Book Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Full text for over 11,300 complete books on a variety of academic and literary topics. These books can also be found through Voyager, our Library's online catalog. After a book has been selected from the Voyager catalog and the full record viewed, click on "Link to Resource," then choose "View this eBook" to read the book you have selected. Off-campus access.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica

- Contents of the Encyclopaedia Britannica and much more. Sections include: news of the day; links to relevant websites; 72,000 articles on general-interest topics; over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions--including pronunciation guides and word histories—from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Off-campus access.
- ERIC
- ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center

- Includes all the contents of the Health Reference Center—Academic, as well as additional reference books, updated pamphlets, and Web links. Gale Group Database. Off-campus access.
- Health Reference Center—Academic

- Provides articles from medical journals, consumer-health magazines, health newsletters, reference books, topical overviews, and pamphlets on health topics. The full text of many articles and all reference books and pamphlets is included. Forty nursing journals are included in full-text, published over the past five years. Gale Group Database. Off-campus access.
- Issues & Controversies (Facts on File)

- Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Off-campus access.
- JSTOR Language and Literature Collection
- The 58 titles in this collection span the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German. Developed with the help of the Modern Language Association, the collection includes PMLA and a range of core journals in the diverse fields of literary criticism that have emerged in the last thirty years. Off-campus access.
- Literature Resource Center

- Contains biographical and critical information about thousands of authors and their writing. Information about literary movements, themes, and genres is also included. Gale Group Database. Off-campus access.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
- MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Off-campus access.
- Modern World History Online (Facts on File)

- Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present. Off-campus access.
- Online Books Page

- Over 18,000 full-text classic books available to read over the Internet. No password required.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

- A source for discussion of social issues and topics from the Greenhaven Press Opposing Viewpoints series and other Gale and Macmillan reference resources. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Gale Group Database. Off-campus access.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online

- The definitive authority of the English language across the English-speaking world for the past millennium, including word history, pronunciation, and meanings.
- ProQuest

- Offers thousands of articles on a wide variety of topics. ProQuest provides access to approximately 1,500 scholarly and general-interest periodicals, many of them full-text, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Dates of coverage vary, but some are available from 1985 to the present. The database is updated daily. Off-campus access.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985)

- The Los Angeles Times (1881-1985) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. Coverage: Dec. 4, 1881 - Dec. 31, 1985. Off-campus access.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals. Off-campus access.
- Science Online (Facts on File)

- Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Off-campus access.
- SIRS Government Reporter

- Contains full-text documents on a wide variety of topics; the almanac databases include current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders, and more. Off-campus access.
- SIRS Renaissance - Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities

- SIRS Renaissance is a reference database that provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs, and illustrations.Off-campus access.
- SIRS Issues Researcher

- SIRS Issues Researcher helps students make sense of the world by offering relevant, credible resources that tell the whole story on the major issues and world conflicts of the day. Off-campus access.
- Today's Science (Facts on File)

- Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year backfile, Today's Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Off-campus access.
- Well-Connected Reports Online

- A library of reports on common diseases and wellness issues.
- World News Digest (Facts on File)

- Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news (US and World News from 1940 to present) from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Other features include Country Profiles, Almanac and Encyclopedia. Off-campus access.
DATABASES A-Z LIST
- For a list of periodicals by subject available in the LAC Library or from ProQuest see the LAC Periodicals Subject List. Also see the selected List of Periodical Call Numbers for topics of magazines and journals found on the first floor of LAC. For a list of politically-oriented periodicals in the LAC Library see LAC Politically-Oriented Periodicals List.
- For a list of periodicals by title available in the PCC Library or from ProQuest, see the PCC Periodicals Title List.
- Free workshops are provided to assist you in using our online databases.
Contact dlaney@lbcc.edu if you have problems accessing the online databases.
Last Updated: April 26th, 2012 by Dena Laney




Library Homepage