Databases

View:   [by subject]   [by alphabetical listing]   [most popular]    [Journal Title Search]

The following databases are licensed for use by current students, faculty, and staff of Long Beach City College only and paid for by the Library. For off-campus access, click the link of the name of the database you would like to connect to and follow the login instructions.

Our Most Popular Databases

 

E-books (EBSCOhost)

Full text for over 11,300 complete books on a variety of academic and literary topics.

EBSCOhost Premiere Collection

Full text periodical databases. Indexes and provides full text to thousand of titles. Subject coverage is broad and includes scholarly publications. Includes the following individual databases: MasterFILE Premier, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Elite, Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer Editions, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion & Philosophy Collection, Professional Development Collection, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source, ERIC, MEDLINE, and CINAHL and more.

Encyclopædia Britannica (Britannica Online), Academic Edition

Contents of the Encyclopædia Britannica and much more. Sections include: news of the day; links to relevant websites; 75,000 articles on general-interest topics; over 23,000 biographies; over 27,000 images and maps; over 3,300 animations; extensive World Atlas; and more than 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

Access to over 150 e-book reference titles representing the following subjects: Arts, Business, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, Social Science, and Technology.

Health Reference Center - Academic (Gale)

Provides articles from medical journals, consumer-health magazines, health newsletters, reference books, topical overviews, and pamphlets on health topics. The full text of many articles and all reference books and pamphlets is included. Forty nursing journals are included in full-text, published over the past five years.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (Gale)

A source for discussion of social issues and topics from the Greenhaven Press Opposing Viewpoints series and other Gale and Macmillan reference resources. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

ProQuest

Offers thousands of articles on a wide variety of topics. ProQuest provides access to approximately 1,500 scholarly and general-interest periodicals, many of them full-text, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Dates of coverage vary, but some are available from 1985 to the present. The database is updated daily.